Leslie Barklamb Scholarship

This annual flute scholarship dates back to 1973, when the founder of the Victorian Flute Guild, Leslie Barklamb, instituted this scholarship under his name.  It has grown to become one of Victoria’s most prestigious instrumental scholarship, and has initiated many careers of now established flautists in leading positions across Australia and abroad.

Please click on the forms below for more information and registration details:




45th Leslie Barklamb Scholarship 2017

Leslie Barklamb, widely considered the ‘Father of the Flute’ in Australia, has left a legacy to flute players as namesake of the scholarship that bears his name. The longevity of the scholarship demonstrates the healthy state of flute playing and teaching in Victoria and again, performances throughout this, the 44th Scholarship, did not fail to disappoint. Audience and adjudicators alike were treated to performances of an exceptionally high standard. Technical dexterity combined with musical ability; exquisite tone quality and poised performances. 

Congratulations are extended to all participants and in particular, the winners and place-getters in each section. The scholarship was extremely well attended this year, making the competition fierce throughout all sections. Adjudicators were indeed given an onerous task, in both the preliminary rounds  as well as the finals. Both sections were held at Methodist Ladies’ College, Kew.


1) Aria Chen and Alison Conrau
Genin – Carnival of Venice theme and variations Vii and viii
2) Katie Wong


1) Charles Campbell-Cowan and Alison Conrau
Doppler – Hungarian Pastoral Fantasy
2) Amelia Evenden


1) Joseph Hourigan and Alison Conrau
Milhaud -Sonatine, 1st Movt
2) Freddy Branson
HM) Jasmine Evenden


1) Melana Uceda and Larissa Cox
Busser – Prelude and Scherzo
2) Anna Rabinowicz



Set piece: Mozart Concerto in D 2 nd Movt

Freddy Branson and David Lempriere-Laughton
Honegger – Dance de la chevre

Philipp Eversheim and David Lempriere-Laughton
Chaminade – Concertino

Daniel Gu and Alison Conrau
Rodrigo – Flute Concerto, 1 st Movt

Jason Hu and David Lempriere-Laughton
Gary Schocker – Airborne


Anna Coe and David Lempriere-Laughton
Jolivet – Chant de linos

Simone Maurer and Hugh Davidson
Devienne – Concerto Not 7 in E minor, 3rd Movt
Burton – Sonatine

Alicia McGorlick and David Lempriere-Laughton
Hue – Fantasie
Toru Takemitsu -Voice

Philipp Eversheim and David Lempriere-Laughton
Dutilleux – Sonatine
Karg-Elert – Chaconne

Thank you to the following sponsors of the Guild; Flutes and Flutists, Fine Music, Opera Australia, Musica Viva, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra and Flute Connections.  Fine Music and Flute Connections provided vouchers for the Intermediate and Senior Sections of the Scholarship.

We hope to see you next year for another season of spectacular fluting from the young flute players of Melbourne.

Written by Anne Rose and Johanna Selleck