44th Leslie Barklamb Scholarship 2016

Leslie Barklamb, widely considered the ‘Father of the Flute’ in Australia, has left a legacy to flute players as namesake of the scholarship that bears his name. The longevity of the scholarship demonstrates the healthy state of flute playing and teaching in Victoria and again, performances throughout this, the 44th Scholarship, did not fail to disappoint. Audience and adjudicators alike were treated to performances of an exceptionally high standard. Technical dexterity combined with musical ability; exquisite tone quality and poised performances. 

Congratulations are extended to all participants and in particular, the winners and place-getters in each section. The scholarship was extremely well attended this year, making the competition fierce throughout all sections. Adjudicators were indeed given an onerous task, in both the preliminary rounds (held on 11th September) as well as the finals (on 16th September). Both sections were held at Methodist Ladies’ College, Kew.

The focal point of the two days of events is always the main award of the senior section – the Leslie Barklamb Scholarship. This year, the award went to Eliza Shephard, who performed with great excitement and command over all aspects of her program, presenting a beautiful ensemble with pianist Adam McMillan. Congratulations are also extended to second-place winner, Alyse Faith. All competitors in the senior section proved themselves to be worthy opponents in every way, and with their respective accompanists, they presented a wonderful program for the enjoyment of the audience, as shown below:

  • Philipp Eversheim accompanied by David Laughton
    Faure – Fantasie
    Prokofiev – Sonata, 4
    th Movement, Allegro con Brio
  • Matthew Mulhern accompanied by Louisa Breen
    Marais – Les Folies D’Espagne
    Prokofiev – Sonata, 2
    nd Movement, Scherzo
    Clarke – The Great Train Race
  • Alyse Faith accompanied by David Laughton
    Debussy – Syrinx
    Nielsen – Concerto, 1
    st Movement, Allegro Moderato
  • Eliza Shephard accompanied by Adam Mc Millan
    Karg-Elert  – Sonata Appassionata
    Boehm – Grande Polonaise

The Intermediate Section is named in memory long time VFG member and president, teacher and examiner Nariida Coleman. The set piece for this section, Romance by Brun, provided performers the opportunity to demonstrate tonal quality and flexibility through a beautiful, melodic work, as well as seamless technical control. As with the senior section, the four finalists were selected from a large and talented cohort of competitors in the preliminary rounds (18 performers in the Senior Section and 7 in the Intermediate Section). Finalists competing for The Nariida Coleman Award (Intermediate Section) are given below with their ‘own choice’ piece (played in addition to the set piece):

  • Raymond Chau accompanied by Melanie Lee
    Hamilton Harty – In Ireland
  • Jessica Ting accompanied by Louisa Breen
    Reinecke – Sonata, 3
    rd movement, Allegro Molto Moderato
  • Emma Todd accompanied by Larissa Cox
    Taktakishvili – Sonata, 1
    st Movement, Allegro Cantabile
  • Daniel Gu accompanied by David Laughton
    Prokofiev – Sonata, 4
    th  Movement, Allegro con Brio

Congratulations to Emma Todd, winner of the Nariida Coleman Award. In a technically commanding and musical performance, Emma ticked all of the boxes and together with accompanist Larissa Cox, brought the music to life. Congratulations also to Daniel Gu, who was awarded 2nd place in this Intermediate Section. To Jessica and Raymond as with the finalists in both sections, we commend the fabulous achievement on reaching the finals. We look forward to seeing some of this year’s finalists back in contention for next year’s rounds, as has been the pattern in previous years. This is testimony to the popularity and high regard in which the scholarship is held by Melbourne’s flute community.

The finals concert on the 16th September also featured the winners of the junior and VCE sections, (which had taken place alongside the preliminary rounds on the 11th September). The winners were:

  • Grace Houghton, winner of the 11 Years and Under
  • Freddy Branson, winner of the 13 Years and Under
  • Daniel Gu, winner of the 15 Years and Under (Margaret Brooke Award)
  • Emma Todd, winner of the VCE/IB section

In the 11 Years and Under section, 2nd place was awarded to Talicia Brown and Honourable Mention to Katie Wong. In the 13 years and Under section, 2nd place went to Vaishnavi Muddam and Honourable Mention to Rhys Campbell. In the 15 years and Under section, 2nd place went to Jacinta Chanitrasekara and Honourable mention to Edward Caldwell. In the VCE/IB section, 2nd place went to Phillip Eversheim.

Special mention must also be given to the accompanists throughout the preliminary rounds as well as the finals. As performers, audience, and organisers, we are privileged to be able to enjoy a world-class standard of performance from the pianists without whom these performances would not be possible and furthermore are greatly enhanced by the skill of all the associate artists who help to bring these works to life.

We also wish to extend out thangs to the adjudicators for the all rounds of the 2016 Leslie Barklamb season:

  • 11 Years & Under – Sian Williams & Livia Judge
  • 13 Years & Under – Sian Williams & Kim Tan
  • 15 Years & Under – Agatha Yim & Kim Tan
  • VCE/IB Section – Agatha Yim & Mandy Lyle
  • Intermediate Section – Greg Lee & Sylvie Leprohon
  • Senior Section – Rebecca Johnson & Paula Rae
  • Finals Adjudicators – Margaret Crawford & Robert John

And finally, Mr Alan Hardy, Master of Ceremonies. For all Allan’s work in preparing an entertaining and factual commentary, year after year, we are immensely grateful.

Thank you to the following sponsors of the Guild; Flutes and Flutists, Fine Music, Opera Australia, Musica Viva, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra and Flute Connections.  Fine Music and Flute Connections provided vouchers for the Intermediate and Senior Sections of the Scholarship.

We hope to see you next year for another season of spectacular fluting from the young flute players of Melbourne.

Written by Anne Rose and Johanna Selleck