The 2017 VFG AGM Concert

Sunday 22nd October, 2.00pm – 3.30pm

A short meeting followed by a concert featuring Victorian flute ensembles and soloists, and afternoon tea…

  • Presentation by Wendy Clarke, Associate Principal Flute of the MSO.
  • Performances by the Flute Ensembles of the VFG
  • The Rorich Ensemble (guests from Camberwell Grammar School)
  • Solo performances by Philipp Eversheim (Winner of the 2017 Leslie Barklamb Scholarship), Greg Lee (flute) and Dean Sky Lucas (piano)

NEW VENUE: The Collingwood Senior Citizens Centre

  • adjacent to Collingwood Town Hall
  • short walk from Collingwood Train Station
  • Short walk from Hoddel Street
  • unrestricted on street parking available surrounding the venue
  • unrestricted car park available behind St Philip’s Anglican Church (enter through Eddy Court)

2017 Leslie Barklamb Winners!

Congratulations to the following winners of this year’s Leslie Barklamb Scholarship!


1) Aria Chen and Alison Conrau
Genin – Carnival of Venice theme and variations Vii and viii
2) Katie Wong


1) Charles Campbell-Cowan and Alison Conrau
Doppler – Hungarian Pastoral Fantasy
2) Amelia Evenden


1) Joseph Hourigan and Alison Conrau
Milhaud -Sonatine, 1st Movt
2) Freddy Branson
HM) Jasmine Evenden


1) Melana Uceda and Larissa Cox
Busser – Prelude and Scherzo
2) Anna Rabinowicz

Finals adjudicators: John Wion and Craig Hill


Set piece: Mozart Concerto in D 2 nd Movt

Freddy Branson and David Lempriere-Laughton
Honegger – Dance de la chevre

Philipp Eversheim and David Lempriere-Laughton
Chaminade – Concertino

Daniel Gu and Alison Conrau
Rodrigo – Flute Concerto, 1 st Movt

Jason Hu and David Lempriere-Laughton
Gary Schocker – Airborne


Anna Coe and David Lempriere-Laughton
Jolivet – Chant de linos

Simone Maurer and Hugh Davidson
Devienne – Concerto Not 7 in E minor, 3rd Movt
Burton – Sonatine

Alicia McGorlick and David Lempriere-Laughton
Hue – Fantasie
Toru Takemitsu -Voice

Philipp Eversheim and David Lempriere-Laughton
Dutilleux – Sonatine
Karg-Elert – Chaconne

Melbourne Composers Concert: Worlds Apart

Saturday 24 June, 5.00pm. Armadale Uniting Church, 86 Kooyong Rd Armadale

Performers: Beatriz Pomés-Jimenez, Johanna Selleck, Peter Bartels, Greg Lee (flutes), Caroline Almonte (piano), Jane Matheson (harpsichord), Jane Robertson (clarinet), Barbara Hornung (viola), Caerwen Martin (cello), Arwen Johnston (percussion), Sophie Marcheff (guitar)

The music of nineteenth-century Spanish composer Pablo de Sarasate (1844–1908) and esteemed Melbourne composer Helen Gifford (1935–) are an unlikely mix, but their juxtaposition provides a tantalizing contrast as will be demonstrated in this adventurous concert. A line-up of distinguished musicians will take us through a journey from the Baroque era to Romantic-period Spain to modern-day Australia. Works for flute and piano form the centerpieces of the program, offset by various combinations of flute, oboe, clarinet, harpsichord, guitar, vibraphone, viola, and cello.

Beatriz Pomés-Jimenez is a PhD student at Melbourne University, studying under the mentorship of Michael Christoforidis and Johanna Selleck. Beatriz shares her hometown of Pamplona in Spain with Sarasate, and his music forms the focus of her doctorate. She has completed a set of beautiful arrangements for flute and piano of eight of Sarasate’s entrancing and virtuosic dances for violin and piano, which will be featured at the concert. This is a major win for flute players around the world and promises to be a substantial addition to our showpiece repertoire.

The much-awarded Australian composer Helen Gifford is also a graduate of the University of Melbourne, where she studied in the 1950s Roy Shepherd and Dorian Le Gallienne. The Victorian Flute Guild is both honoured and proud to present the work of this extraordinary composer. The programmed works are: Fantasy for flute and piano; Skiagram for flute, vibraphone, and viola; Lyric for flute, clarinet, and cello; and Sonnet for flute, guitar, and harpsichord.

Enquiries and bookings: phone Johanna on 0419 107 308 or email

PDF version: VFG_Worlds Apart concert